關於WVYB

關於WVYB

WVYB是一個沒有試聽的社區青年音樂節目,有四個樂隊和兩個弦樂級別。 沒有經驗是必要的初學者樂隊。 WVYB從西溫哥華社區中心社區音樂廳的家中,通過高素質的導師提供優秀的音樂指導和表演機會。

樂隊級別

WVYB有四個不同級別的樂隊。音樂家根據音樂和成熟度進行樂隊級別的設置,由樂隊指揮自行決定。沒有經驗是必要的初學者樂隊。

初學者樂隊
初學者樂隊的成員通常是5至7年級,10至12歲的學生,請注意,6至7年級的學生將優先考慮。初學者全部樂隊排練,學生們可以從各種樂器中選擇適合他們的樂器。

青少年樂隊
初學者樂隊畢業生,以及至少有一年音樂經驗的學生。一般為6至8歲,11至13歲。樂隊級別的安排由樂隊總監自行決定,基於音樂和成熟度。

音樂會樂隊
對於至少兩年的學生,7 - 9年級,12-14歲的文書。目前這個級別的職位數量有限,具體取決於工具。安排是基於音樂和成熟的,由音樂總監自行決定。

音樂會樂隊經常在戲院演出,每年在西溫哥華的小學巡迴演出。

交響樂團
對於最有經驗的學生,9年級 - 大學,14至19歲。目前在這個級別有限的職位數量取決於儀器。放置是基於音樂和成熟,由樂隊指揮自行決定。

交響樂團播放各種音樂,並經常播放原創作品。與羅伯特·巴克利(Robert Buckley)和拉爾夫·福特(Ralph Ford)等作曲家合作,為音樂家們提供了一個如何創作音樂的深刻見解。

除了西溫哥華紀念日,社區日,加拿大日,Dundarave聖誕樹燈光以及任何需要音樂的公民活動之外,樂隊每年還會舉辦兩三場重要的音樂會。

交響樂隊每年九月在Camp Squamish營地進行為期三天的撤退,並經常在夏季進行巡演。旅遊是可選的,並在用戶付款的基礎上。 Squamish營包含在註冊費用中。

字符串級別

2017年是我們WVYB STRINGS計劃的第八個年頭

WVYB有兩個級別的字符串。音樂家根據音樂和成熟度被安排在弦樂水平上,並由琴弦主任決定。

音樂會弦樂:週六早上9點到10點30分排練

適合年齡在9-13歲(4-8年級)的音樂家參加正規的私人課程,並有兩年或兩年以上的樂器使用經驗。需要在基本水平讀取標準音樂符號的能力。這個合奏集中於建立合奏技能,每年演出三到五次。

交響弦:從上午10點30分到下午12點30分排練週六早上

適合13至21歲(8歲及以上)的音樂家參加正規的私人課程,並有三年或以上的樂器使用經驗。閱讀複雜音樂符號和理解標準音樂術語的能力是必需的。這是一個以表演為基礎的樂團,每年都會以五到七場的表演為重點。

哪一個合奏是給你的?

弦樂總監將在非正式的試鏡中聽取任何新的候選人,並決定哪個合奏組合最適合個人。列出的年齡和年級水平是一個指導,音樂家的能力和成熟度將考慮安置時考慮年齡或年級。

欲知更多信息,請聯繫

Nicholas Urquhart
字符串指揮
stringsdirector@westvanyouthband.ca
778-994-6425

特別節目

高級鼓樂節目 - 樂團成員於2017年10月至2018年3月
WVYB高級鼓手項目對那些熱愛打擊樂作為藝術形式的音樂家開放。打擊樂合奏最多限制在12人以內。要註冊熟練的打擊樂手必須能夠讀取高音,低音和打擊樂譜,並在9-12級。

這是一個有興趣學習高級打擊樂的樂章的機會,可以體驗打擊樂的各種可能性。會議將在西溫哥華社區中心音樂廳舉行。

馬丁·菲斯克是我們的打擊樂音樂教育家。馬丁是一位傑出的教育家,將領導鼓樂節目。他定期與VSO,VOA,溫哥華新音樂合作,是溫哥華邊緣打擊樂團的創始成員。 WVYB得益於他作為我們的打擊樂教練多年。

小組將在星期二舉行一次會議。

黃銅五重奏節目 - 交響樂團成員從十月到TBA
信息待定

About WVYB

About WVYB

The WVYB is a non-auditioned community youth music program with four Band and two Strings levels.  No experience is necessary for beginner band.  From our home in the Community Music Hall, West Vancouver Community Centre, the WVYB provides excellent music instruction and performance opportunities through highly qualified instructors.

Band Levels

The WVYB has four different levels of Band.  Musicians are placed in band levels based on musicianship and maturity and is at the discretion of the band director.  No experience is necessary for beginner band.

Beginner Band
For students with little or no previous training on an instrument, the Beginner Band's members are usually in grades 5 through 7, aged 10 - 12. Please be aware that priority will be given to students in grade 6 and 7. At the first beginner full band rehearsal, students are presented with a variety of instruments from which to choose one suitable for them.

Junior Band
For Beginner Band graduates, and students with a minimum of one year of musical experience.  Generally grades 6 through 8, age 11 to 13.  Placement in band levels is at the discretion of the band director and is based on musicianship and maturity.

Concert Band
For students with a minimum of two years on an instrument, grades 7 - 9, age 12-14. There are currently a limited number of positions available at this level depending on the instrument. Placement is based on musicianship and maturity and is at the discretion of the music director. 

Concert Band often plays at Theatres and performs on a school tour of elementary schools in West Vancouver each year.

Symphonic Band
For the most experienced students, grades 9 - college, age 14 to 19. There are currently a limited number of positions available at this level depending on the instrument. Placement is based on musicianship and maturity and is at the discretion of the band director.

Symphonic Band plays a variety of music and often plays original compositions. Working with composers such as Robert Buckley and Ralph Ford provide the musicians with great insight into how a piece of music is created.

The band plays two or three major concerts each year in addition to West Vancouver Remembrance Day, Community Day, Canada Day, Dundarave Christmas Tree Lighting and just about any civic event where music is required.

Symphonic Band attends a three day retreat each September at Camp Squamish and often tours in the summer. Tours are optional and are on a user pay basis. Camp Squamish is included in registration fees.

Strings Levels

2017 marks the eighth year of our WVYB STRINGS PROGRAM

The WVYB has two levels of Strings.  Musicians are placed in strings levels based on musicianship and maturity and is at the discretion of the strings director.  

Concert Strings: rehearse from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Saturday mornings

Suitable for musicians aged 9-13 (grades 4-8) who are enrolled in regular private lessons and have two or more years of experience on their instrument. The ability to read standard music notation at a basic level is required. This ensemble is focused on building ensemble skills and gives performances three to fives times a year.

Symphonic Strings: rehearse from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Saturday mornings

Suitable for musicians aged 13-21 (grades 8 and up) who are enrolled in regular private lessons and have three or more years of experience on their instrument. The ability to read complex music notation and an understanding of standard musical terminology is required. This is a performance based ensemble and is focused on building repertoire toward the five to seven performances each year.

Which ensemble is for you?

The Strings Director will hear any new candidate in an informal audition and decide which ensemble is most appropriate for the individual. The age and grade levels listed are a guide and musicians ability and maturity will be considered over age or grade when considering placement.

For more information contact:

Nicholas Urquhart
Strings Conductor
stringsdirector@westvanyouthband.ca
778-994-6425

Special Programs

Advance Drum Program - Symphonic Band Members from October 2017 to March 2018
The WVYB Advanced Drumming program is open to musicians who are passionate about percussion as an art form. The percussion ensemble is limited to a maximum of 12 players. To register the skilled percussionist must be capable of reading treble, bass, and percussion clef and be in grade 9 - 12.

This is an opportunity for students interested in pursuing advanced percussion focused repertoire and experience the wide range of possibilities on percussion. The sessions will be held at the Music Hall in the West Vancouver Community Centre.

Martin Fisk is our Percussion music educator. Martin is an exceptional educator and will be directing the advance drumming program. He performs regularly with the VSO, VOA, Vancouver New Music and is the founding member of Vancouver's Fringe Percussion Ensemble. The WVYB has benefited from having him as our percussion coach for many years.

The group will meet on Tuesdays, once a month.

Brass Quintet Program - Symphonic Band Members from October to TBA
Information TBA